NIFA 2021 Winners Announced

NIFA 2021 Winners Announced

Community Collaboration Award Winners: Anindilyakwa Arts with Dr Aly de Groot and Anna Reynolds. Image credit: Anindilyakwa Arts

In a live-streamed ceremony on Larrakia Country on Monday night (Aug 3), the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation's Indigenous Fashion Projects announced the winners of this year's National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA).

With over 31 nominees across six categories, the event celebrated the innovation, rich cultural diversity and ethical practices of Australia’s First Nations peoples in fashion and textiles. People came together for the ceremony in Darwin, which was streamed live around Australia and the world.

And the winners are:

  • Paul McCann (Melbourne, VIC), for the Cultural Adornment and Wearable Art Award – co-presented with DAAFF
  • Denni Francisco, Ngali (Melbourne, VIC), for the Fashion Design Award – co-presented with Country Road
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack, Ikuntji Artists (Haasts Bluff, NT), for the Textile Design Award – co-presented with RMIT University
  • Anindilyakwa Arts with Dr Aly de Groot and Anna Reynolds (Groote Eylandt, NT), for the Community Collaboration Award, co-presented by Darwin Innovation Hub
  • Mylene Holroyd of Pormpuraaw Art & Culture featuring Simone Arnol designs (Cairns/Pormpuraaw, QLD), for the Environmental and Social Contribution Award – co-presented with Northern Territory Government
  • Bima Wear (Tiwi Islands, NT), for the Special Recognition Award – co-presented with Northern Territory Government

Meet and read more about the winners here.

Back to blog